Welcome to the Fifth Penn Invitational

Science Olympiad at the University of Pennsylvania
(SOUP) is a student-run organization at Penn that organizes one of the most competitive college-sponsored Science Olympiad invitational tournaments in the country and mentors local middle school teams with the goal of spurring interest in STEM in students who might otherwise lack the opportunity.

Upcoming Dates

  • November 14, 2020 @ 3 pm ET - Registration Opens

  • February 27, 2021 @ 10 am ET - Tournament Starts

  • February 28, 2021 @ 4 pm ET - Awards Ceremony


Students can now take tests online.

Take Test using Login ID

We have a SOUP merch store!

Check it out HERE



When will registration open?
Registration for the 2021 invitational will start on November 14th, 2020 at 3pm ET.

What is the registration fee?
The registration fee for this year is $30 per team. Philadelphia school district schools have their registration fees waived.

What will the tournament format be?
All of our events will be run using National-level rules, with minor modifications to the event structure to accommodate the virtual environment. A detailed list of changes will be announced to registered teams. Events will be scheduled on the Scilympiad platform following the 2019-2020 National schedule. A detailed schedule with team numbers will be sent to registered teams. Tests will be administered electronically through the Scilympiad platform, which will allow partners to collaborate on events. Build events will not count toward teams’ final scores. To compete in build events, students must submit their videos by 10 am ET on Saturday, February 27, 2021. These videos will be graded on a rolling basis on the day of the tournament. More details on build events will be announced to registered teams. We expect students to give their best effort while displaying honesty, integrity, and good sportsmanship. All teams are expected to follow our tournament rules and abide by the Science Olympiad Code of Ethics.

Where can I find the event schedule?
See below.

Will teams be allowed to write on tests?
This year, since our tournament will be virtual, we will be using scilympiad.org. Please submit your answers virtually through the website.

Will coaches be responsible for writing tests?
All tests will be written, reviewed, and proctored by Science Olympiad alumni.

Where can I find all of the necessary tournament information?
Our official information document is located on the “Tournament Information” page under the “Tournament” tab.

When will the information document be released?
Our unofficial information document will be released sometime in November. Revised versions will appear periodically and will be posted about under the “Updates” tab.

Where can I find the forms that my students need to sign?
They are also located on the “Tournament Information” page under the “Tournament” tab.

When will the tournament end?
The tournament ends on February 27 at 5 pm ET. The awards ceremony will begin at 4 pm ET on Sunday, February 28, 2021. Trophies and medals will be mailed to the winners.